decoding Funcube data for school project

The main aim of the FUNcube project is provide educationalists access to information about a real spacecraft in Low Earth Orbit. Please use this forum to discuss classroom projects and similar matters. FUNcube support is provided elsewhere in the forum.

Moderators: pa3weg, g4dpz, admin

decoding Funcube data for school project

Postby PE1JTG » Sun Oct 19, 2014 9:07 pm

Hello,

I am new to this forum and just starting with Funcube.

I am a teacher application programming in, mainly, C# and Arduino. On our school (ICT, technical, age between 17 and 21) we want to start a Funcube project. The goal is to make the rotation of Funcube visible. The first part will be to create a rotating object on screen. When this succeeds we want to take it a step further by putting a model of Funcube in a transparent globe and move it around by controlling stepper motors. For this we need to decode the raw Funcube data. I have taken a look at the data and it seems to be encrypted. Another option was to use the .csv WOD, however this seems to be incomplete since the Z+ and Z- solar panel data are missing (or are they..).

Is there someone who can tell me how the raw Funcube data is encrypted?
PE1JTG

Re: decoding Funcube data for school project

Postby g4dpz » Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:16 pm

Hi,

To be strict about the data format, it is encoded, not encrypted as it is transmitted using Amateur Radio frequencies and has to be open for decoding.

The document which describes the format is given here:

http://funcubetest2.files.wordpress.com ... aft_13.doc

and the formulae for translation here:

http://funcubetest2.files.wordpress.com ... ons_b1.xls

The source code for decoding the data in Java is here:

https://github.com/FUNcube/fcdw_data

The main starting point for decoding the hex frames is here:

https://github.com/FUNcube/fcdw_data/bl ... essor.java

Look for the processHexFrame() method.