UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

An area to discuss the design and development of a system to maintain information on satellites and their characteristics

Moderators: pa3weg, g4dpz, admin

UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby g4bbh » Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:20 am

The last couple of days UK-1/FC2 has been transmitting on its normal frequency around 145.916MHz but with a completely different data format. This is much wider in bandwidth than normal TLM and sounds quite different. Of course Dashboard does not recognise it. Although this is in the amateur band the UKUBE team seem o be very secretive about their activities. Does anyone know what they are doing?
Dick G4BBH
g4bbh
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:42 am

Re: UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby n8mh » Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:51 pm

Did you by chance use a funcube dongle to make a broad band recording? That would let some folks try to figure out what the mode was...

73,

Mark N8MH
Mark N8MH
n8mh
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:32 am

Re: UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby g4bbh » Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:19 pm

No I didn't record the data. I noticed on the last occasion it was transmitting in this mode that in mid pass it switched back to normal TLM. I did turn on Dashboard audio monitor when the widband signal was present and found that amongst the data 'noise' there were definite tones stepping four or five times per second a little like some digital modes used on HF.
Dick G4BBH
g4bbh
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 11:42 am

Re: UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby g4dpz » Fri Jan 02, 2015 3:34 pm

Hi,

It's possible at you were seeing the raw i2c data from the UKube satellite bus being transmitted rather than the FC packets.

Can you give us rough timings of when this occurred?

&3

Dave, G4DPZ
FUNcube Team member
g4dpz
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:07 pm

Re: UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby Phlash » Thu Jan 08, 2015 8:42 pm

Could have been the UVTRX transmitter on UK-1 which uses a completely different (and higher bandwidth) modulation scheme..

http://www.spaceflight101.com/ukube-1.html

P.
Phlash
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 4:07 pm

Re: UKube-1/Funcube 2 change of telemetry

Postby g3vzv » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:08 am

Hi Dick,

Nothing has changed in the FUncube-2 telemetry format nor any change in the modulation. Not sure therefore that I can explain your observations.

UKube is, of course, not yet in full time amateur operation although we were able to do some testing over the holiday period. We will be discussing future plans with the UK Space Agency shortly and hopefully will be able to announce more plans after this.

73

Graham
G3VZV
g3vzv
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:49 pm


Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest