Pre-Amp

Suggestions for and practical usage of antennas

Moderator: pa3weg

Pre-Amp

Postby W0RK » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:34 am

Hi all,

I'm running a homebrew turnstile antenna, with a reflector, that is fed with about 45 feet of low-loss RG-8 coax. The coax is feeding the latest version of the Funcube Dongle. I'm wondering if a pre-amp would help me receive more of the telemetry data then I get now, particularly on the low passes. I'd appreciate any thoughts on this.

Thanks,

Kelley
W0RK
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 3:12 am

Re: Pre-Amp

Postby wa8sme » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:23 am

Hi Kelley,

The simple answer is, yes. Especially if you mount the preamp at the antenna to help overcome the loss and injected noise of the coax. There are many who will take the opposite position that a preamp is not required. However, from my experience, a preamp is very, very helpful.

Mark, WA8SME@comcast.net
wa8sme
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 12:37 am

Re: Pre-Amp

Postby vk2byf » Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:50 am

My 2 cents worth.

Think of the pre-amp as making up for the losses in the feed-line.
Look up the attenuation for RG-8 coax at 145MHz
If you are not hearing the satellite near the horizon you may need
to improve your antenna. I'm using a home-brew eggbeater with AMSAT preamp
at the antenna.
I start decoding from 6 degrees above the horizon.
I'm looking to improve on that with a home-brew QFH (Google it) antenna.
The Turnstyle is really just a basic antenna to get you started.

Cheers Bob VK2BYF
vk2byf
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:51 am


Return to Antennas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron